Live. Learn. Run.

Just another WordPress.com site

I like the way you move January 13, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — taliabuford @ 2:38 am

I was psyched about going to class tonight. I’m not even sure how it came about. It just all came together.

I was with Veronica Tuesday and she suggested I go to the intro to jazz class at her dance company, Contradiction Dance. I scoffed at first, then said, okay. I mean, I do have a slate of classes to finish by the end of this year — I promised myself.

So today, she and I made our way to Silver Spring, took off our shoes and got ready to move.

I’ll say this: it moves quickly.

But not even. Like, I felt like as it was going along, I could follow and that I was doing what I needed to do. But by the end of the class, when we had done like, three movements (not sure if that’s the right word) of a dance the instructor was teaching us, I was looking back like, how did we get here?

How’d I do?

There were some missteps. Quite a few. I don’t have a ton of rhythm, so I watched the instructor a lot. That was cool when she was in front of me. But then, I’d have to do it with another student and I couldn’t look at her. So I kinda felt like I had two left feet at times. I think it was also a little frustrating because I’d just done it not 30 seconds prior when she was leading us through, but I was stumbling trying to replicate it.

I’d talked with her prior to class beginning and she said she was going to try to convince me to sign up for the entire class. I was skeptical.

But at the end of the class, I wanted to finish it. I wanted to at least be able to get those moves down. And I did say I wanted to take a class. Why not this one? Why not now?

So, for the next 7 weeks, my Wednesday night dance card is full. Now let’s hope I can just get the whole counting-in-your-head-while-listening-to-music-and-moving-your-body thing down by then.

I’ll let you know how it goes.

 

Leave a Reply

